Stat Attack: Turkey (post-race)

Stat Attack: Turkey (post-race)

Michele Merlino investigates the records and compiles the stats following the Turkish Grand Prix

Button's record tracker

Jenson Button became the first driver to win four consecutive races since Fernando Alonso in 2006 (Spain to Canada). It is also Button's sixth victory in the first seven races of the year, making him just the fourth driver in history to achieve the feat. The previous cases were Jim Clark (1965) and Michael Schumacher (1994 and 2004). Schumacher is the only driver to have won seven of the first eight races (in 2004), in fact he won 12 of the first 13 that year.

Only twice in Formula 1 history has a driver scored more points in the opening seven races of a year than Button has in this campaign. Schumacher scored 66 in 1994 and Alonso 64 in 2006. If full points had been awarded for the Malaysian GP, Button's total would be 66, equalliing Schumacher's all-time record.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just