The 2010 IndyCar season review

The 2010 IndyCar season review

It looked like Will Power was running away with the 2010 IndyCar title until Dario Franchitti hunted him down and claimed a third crown. AUTOSPORT explains how it all unfolded

Round 1 - Sao Paulo

An epic opener on the gloriously imperfect new Sao Paulo street track came down to a three-way tussle between Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay and Penske duo Will Power and Ryan Briscoe on a circuit drying after a typical Brazilian downpour that had caused a 45-minute stoppage.

Hunter-Reay had earlier passed poleman Dario Franchitti (Ganassi) during the initial dry portion of the race, and then took slicks at just the right moment in part two. The American found himself being hunted down by Power and Briscoe in the closing stages, swapping places with Briscoe twice before the Australian crashed out of the lead. Power then pounced on Hunter-Reay after the restart to claim victory on his comeback after injury.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just