Stat Attack: Australia

Stat Attack: Australia

Michele Merlino interrogates the record books and compiles the vital statistics ahead of the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne - the opening round of the 2011 Formula 1 world championship

World champions

Five world champions will start the 2011 season: Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel. They have amassed 12 world titles between them, and represent all the title winners since 2000 - except for 2007 champion Kimi Raikkonen.

It's only the third time the Formula 1 grid can boast five world champions: the last time was 1970 (John Surtees, Jack Brabham, Graham Hill, Denny Hulme and Jackie Stewart). It happened in 1968 as well, but sadly that count was reduced to four after Jim Clark was killed in an F2 race at Hockenheim (Stewart had yet to win his first title at this point).

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just