The changing tides of the F1 calendar

The changing tides of the F1 calendar

As India, Russia and Texas all contemplate their inclusion in Formula 1 over the next two years, Dieter Rencken looks at the evolution of the schedule since 1950, and explains how some of the most famous venues it has included are now in trouble

Seven rounds made up Formula 1's maiden world championship season back in 1950. In order they were Great Britain, Monaco, United States, Switzerland, Belgium, France and Italy.

The US event, run for Indy roadsters, was an anomaly and had been included for two reasons: to lend credence to the term 'world' and to appease the Land of the Automobile after the nation loyally stood by the Allied Forces through World War II.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just