How Turkey lost its place on the 2012 Formula 1 calendar

How Turkey lost its place on the 2012 Formula 1 calendar

The latest version of the 2012 Formula 1 calendar does not feature the Turkish Grand Prix. Dieter Rencken examines how the country lost its race and what fellow lossmakers Spain and Belgium are doing to prevent the same thing happening to them

Another month, another Formula 1 calendar for the incoming season. On June 3 the FIA World Motor Sport Council issued a press release with the 2012 calendar being top of the agenda.

A list of 21 dates appeared beneath the phrase: "The 2012 FIA Formula 1 World Championship calendar is confirmed as follows," yet no sooner had this column pointed out that the 2010-2012 Concorde Agreement (the sport's tripartite covenant signed by its governing body, Commercial Rights Holder and all 12 teams) allowed for just 20 races in any one season during its duration, than FIA president Jean Todt told the media that there would be just 20 races.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just