The flaws that deny McLaren titles

The flaws that deny McLaren titles

It has a great history, talented staff and superb resources, so why can't McLaren win the title? MARK HUGHES reckons he knows

Red Bull currently stands poised to have its driver take a fourth consecutive world championship.

To go back far enough in history to find the past four McLaren drivers' titles, we tick off Lewis Hamilton (2008), Mika Hakkinen (1999, 1998) and Ayrton Senna (1991); in other words, we have to go back 22 years to see as many McLaren world champions as we (likely) will have seen from Red Bull in the past four.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just