How the Award winner is chosen

How the Award winner is chosen

The 2013 McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award was a hard-fought contest as the judges looked for the next British motorsport star. KEVIN TURNER explains how the six finalists were assessed

The process for selecting the best up-and-coming British motorsport talent has evolved a lot over the history of the McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award. Inaugural winner David Coulthard was simply chosen on the back of his fine Formula Ford performances in 1989, but the system is now rather more complex and analytical.

This year's judges - BRDC president Derek Warwick, double British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, former GT ace and Award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, McLaren head of vehicle engineering Mark Williams, leading commentator Ian Titchmarsh and yours truly - had access to a fantastic amount of data.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just