The top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2014

The top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2014

Power became champion at last, Castroneves missed out again, Montoya starred and even Huertas won. MARK GLENDENNING ranks the stars of a wildly unpredictable IndyCar year

The immediate aftermath of the 2014 IndyCar season felt a bit like the recovery period that follows a very large party. There was a sense that an awful lot had just happened in a very short period of time, but processing it was a bit of a struggle.

Somewhere in the haze, Takuma Sato had kicked the season off by starting from pole in St Petersburg, Tony Kanaan rounded things out by winning for the first time in Dario Franchitti's old car at Fontana, and Will Power spared himself another 12 months of talking about near-misses by finally securing his first IndyCar championship.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just