How the Award winner is chosen

How the Award winner is chosen

On Sunday night, the winner of the 2014 McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award will be revealed. SCOTT MITCHELL describes the science behind the evaluation process

How do you choose the best up-and-coming British driver? That's the question at the heart of the McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award process.

From start-to-finish, the system of selection is far more refined and analytical than it has ever been. Which means the judges - BRDC president and former world sportscar champion Derek Warwick, double British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, former Award winner turned McLaren GT ace Andrew Kirkaldy, McLaren head of vehicle engineering Mark Williams, leading circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Motorsport News editor Kevin Turner - have more information than ever to select the winner.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just