Formula 1's only Class B champion

Formula 1's only Class B champion

Formula 1 crowned two champions in 1987, but one title is very much in the shadow of the other. SCOTT MITCHELL revisits Jonathan Palmer's Jim Clark Trophy success

Britain's title-free run between James Hunt's 1976 triumph and Nigel Mansell's success in 1992 remains the country's longest wait for a Formula 1 world champion, though it did pick up an F1 title of sorts during that period.

By winning the 1987 Jim Clark Trophy, Jonathan Palmer has the distinction of being Formula 1's sole officially recognised Class B champion. The award was created to give teams not running turbocharged engines something to fight for, and generally featured between four and six qualifiers.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just