The top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2017

The top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2017

The big talking point of the IndyCar season was Fernando Alonso's Indianapolis 500 - but who starred over the entire campaign?

Team Penske scored 10 wins in the 17 races that comprised the 2017 IndyCar Series, but remarkably there were still 10 different race winners and the Sonoma finale featured several potential winners of the championship - four realistic, six altogether.

We saw a win for Dale Coyne Racing from Sebastien Bourdais, James Hinchcliffe's first victory since his life-threatening shunt at Indy two years ago, the first road-course win for Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato scoring the first Indy 500 victory for a Japanese driver and the first win in three years for Helio Castroneves.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just