From Ocon to Bottas - Every GP3 season ranked

From Ocon to Bottas - Every GP3 season ranked

The GP3 Series is dead and buried, replaced by the new FIA Formula 3 Championship. Autosport correspondents who covered GP3 over the years rank the series in order based on driver talent, entertainment, grid size and action

The Formula 1-supporting GP3 Series, like the GP2 championship that became Formula 2, is now part of the FIA's remit under a new banner - Formula 3. The category will be very similar to its 2012-18 iteration, but the GP3 name has been consigned to the motorsport history books.

The third-tier series ran for nine seasons, during which ART Grand Prix become something of a category powerhouse with six drivers' champions and eight teams' titles. Only Carlin and Alex Lynn prevented it taking a clean sweep of the latter honour. GP3 may not have produced the same level of exciting, overtaking-filled races as GP2/F2, but 12 of its drivers - and six of its champions - have gone on to race in F1.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just