How the Autosport Young Driver Award winner gets chosen

How the Autosport Young Driver Award winner gets chosen

This Sunday, the latest winner of our young driver Award will be announced. Here's how the team of judges assessed the four British hopefuls that made the final of the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

Autosport's search for the best young British driving talent has been pretty successful over the past 30 years.

David Coulthard became the inaugural Award winner in 1989, with an on-track shootout between a selected group of finalists arriving the following year. Since then, winners have included 2009 Formula 1 world champion Jenson Button, three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti, 2014 World Endurance champion Anthony Davidson, and current F1 stars George Russell and Lando Norris.

To continue reading this feature...

You must have an AUTOSPORT+ subscription. Prices start from just $1.50 per week and give you full unrestriced access to all news and features. View package options? Magazine subscriber?


from just $1.50 per week

  • Get unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Explore every F1 stat in the world’s best motorsport database

Pay as you go

Read this feature right now for just